The Orchid Society of Southern California is the oldest orchid society in Southern California, founded in 1940. It is affiliated with the American Orchid Society, as well as Orchid Digest magazine, and the California Garden Clubs.

Affiliated Organization Logos

Members of OSSC come from all over the greater Los Angeles metropolitan area. Current members reside in the following cities:

, Alhambra, CA Burbank, CA Castaic, CA
Glendale, CA La Canada, CA La Crescenta, CA Los Angeles, CA
Mission Hills, CA Montclair, CA Monterey Park, CA Montrose, CA
North Hills, CA North Hollywood, CA Ontario, CA Pahoa, HI
Pasadena, CA Pearblossom, CA Santa Monica, CA Shadow Hills, CA
Sherman Oaks, CA Stevenson Ranch, CA Studio City, CA Sunland, CA
Temple City, CA Thousand Oaks, CA Torrance, CA Vista, CA
Whittier, CA

our mission

According to the Society's bylaws, "The purpose of the Society shall be to foster and encourage the education of its members with respect to the culture, growing, hybridization, preservation, and perpetuation of native and hybrid orchids of every variety."  And we just happen to have a lot of fun doing it! The complete by-laws of the society were last revised in November 2017, and can be found here in Adobe PDF format.

The Orchid Society of Southern California is a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(5) of the Internal Revenue Code.

2021 officers & chairmanships

President Ryan Langton
1st Vice President Carol Beule
2nd Vice President James Roberts
Recording Secretary Linda Connell
Treasurer Wendy Fisher
Membership Secretary Anzhela Timiryan
Publicity Chair Ted Augustyn
Librarian David Dassey
Newsletter Editor David Dassey
Newsletter Publisher David Dassey
Hospitality Chair TBD
Webmaster Ted Augustyn
Social Media Chairperson Erin Maxick / Wendy Fisher
AOS Contact David Dassey

board of directors 

Past President: Mrs. Erin Maxick

2019 - 2021 2020 - 2022 2021 - 2023
David Dassey Jack Zhu Erin Maxick    
Ty Nguyen   Kristine Chaparro

golden circle honorary board

  • Ted Augustyn
  • Steve Gollis
  • Lumi Guy
  • Alfred Hockenmaier
  • Alberto Ossa

past ossc presidents

Southern California Chapter of The Orchid Society of California

Mr. W. E. Severence 1940 Dr. Gustav Mehlquist [Left in fall] 1944
Mr. Howard I. Stites 1941 Mr. Robert B. Dugger 1945
Mr. Glenn Hiatt 1942 & 1943 Mr. J. Henry Orme 1946

Orchid Society of Southern California

Mr. Frank B. Cobb 1947 Mr. F. C. Herman 1977
Mr. Robert B. Dugger 1948 Mrs. Robert F. Metzler 1978
Mr. D. N. Maccone 1949 Mr. John Christie 1979
Mr. Howard I. Stites 1950 Mr. Jim Rassmann 1980
Mr. J. A. Muller 1951 Dr. Carl Eyerick 1981
Mr. Morris Holmquist 1952 Dr. Arnold N. Oldre 1982
Mr. Howard A. Anderson 1953 Mr. Ron J. Hall 1983
Mr. J. A. Muller 1954 Mr. Fordyce "Red" Marsh 1984
Mr. Ernest E. Hetherington 1955 Mr. Robert Spangenberg 1985 & 1986
Mr. Joseph Hampton 1956 Mr. Bill Paylen 1987 & 1988
Mr. George D. Field 1957 Mrs. Elizabeth Pellett 1989
Mr. J. Howard Carrington 1958 Mrs. Fordyce S. (Trudi) Marsh 1990 & 1991
Mr. Frank J. Manahan 1959 Mr. Steve Gollis 1992, 1993 & 1994
Mr. John W. Hanes 1960 Mr. Robert Lauri 1995 & 1996
Dr. William S. McEwan 1961 Mr. Alfred Hockenmaier 1997 & 1998
Mr. Philip lsley 1962 Mr. Leonard Dean 1999 & 2000
Mr. Wilbur G. Wood 1963 Mr. Dan Dickey 2001 & 2002
Mr. Leo Holguin 1964 & 1965 Mr. Ted Augustyn 2003 & 2004
Mr. Gene Boyd 1966 & 1967 Mr. Michael Scarbrock 2005 & 2006
Mr. John W. Hanes 1968 Mrs. Krystine Chaparro 2007 & 2008
Mr. Ralph W. Spencer 1969 Mrs. Lucille Banks 2009 & 2010
Mr. Carl F. Keyes 1970 Mr. Ted Augustyn 2011 & 2012
Mr. Donald E. Herman 1971 Ms. Linda Bailey 2013
Mrs. Marie R. Morgan 1972 Mrs. Krystine Chaparro 2014 - 2016
Mr. Mike Mayo 1973 Mrs. Erin Maxick 2017 & 2018
Mr. Merle Nelson 1974 Rotating Presidency 2019
Mr. Robert F. Metzler 1975 & 1976 Mrs. Erin Maxick 2020

Bookmark and Share
Cattleya unknown Cym. Accent x Pinata Hotlips Den. unknown Amazon Associates Promo
You can save money AND help OSSC by clicking on the logo above to shop at OSSC will receive a small percentage of the money you spend, at no additional cost to you!